My First Horror Movie

My unspoken plan to never watch a Saw movie was ruined when the PE teacher didn’t show up, the principal said “why don’t you watch a movie?” and a boy who calls himself Monkey decided to put on the last 1/3 of either Saw 4 or 5. Now, for those of you who don’t know, I am a totally sheltered child as far as scary movies go. From an early age, I had an extremely overactive imagination, causing even the slightest scary moment to give me nightmares for weeks. This tendancy to be extremely frightened very easily made my parents not allow me to watch anything scary, a rule that I’ve always been perfectly fine with. Come to think of it, I don’t know if that’s even a real rule. I just don’t want to watch a scary movie at all. You must take into account that before today the scariest movie I had ever seen was Coraline..and that’s animated. When I saw that I literally came out of the movie theater shaking, and throughout the whole movie was incredibly nervous and was sending nervous vibes (Mom: “are you okay?” the whole time). Anyhow, before I realize what’s happening, three people have to choose one of them to sacrifice and be electrocuted in a bath tub and… well I’m not going to even talk about the rest because I don’t want to think about it! That movie was horrible! There’s a part where two people are having their arms sawed through and Moritz was LAUGHING! HOW COULD YOU LAUGH AT THAT? I didn’t look when all the cutting was going on…I hid my face and dug my nails into Sang Min’s leg (cause he wasn’t being very supportive of me at first, either) and kept asking “is it over? is it over?” By the time we had to stop the movie (didn’t quite finish) I was shaking and almost in tears….I guess now I’ve seen what, 3 and a third R movies? Thank God I had “Me Talk Pretty One Day” by David Sedaris and a free period immediately after, so I cheered myself up. Just finished the book tonight, I think it might be my new favorite by him! I’ve sort of put off reading ‘Through the Looking Glass’ for now, Alice was a little too random for me right now. Next on my list? Well, I’ve got the entire chronicles of Narnia…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My First Horror Movie

  1. shelley shakes says:

    Sorry you had to see that. I don’t like those movies either! (But you know that…). Glad I sent you Smallville season 4…maybe you should always keep a DVD in your bag just in case. Xo Mom

  2. Mary Beth says:

    Miranda, When you read the Chronicles of Narnia, be sure to begin with “The Magician’s Nephew”, THEN “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe”, The Horse and His Boy”, “Prince Caspian”, “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader”, “The Silver Chair”, and “The Last Battle”. Usually the series begins with the “The Lion…” because it was written first, but C.S. Lewis himself said to start reading them with “The Magician’s Nephew” because that sets up the whole story line… Enjoy!

  3. June Adams says:

    Hi, Honey, Sorry you had to see that horrible movie. I don’t care for movies like either. It must run in the family. Why would any parent want their children to view such movies? There are so many good movies, such as comedy, oh yes, they don’t have a sence of humor. Would you like us to send you some funny movies? Love,)X Grandma, June
    Oh I just got back from 10 days of visiting people from here to Santa Monica and Venice and back again. Had a great time, Diane has relatives in every city it seems so we nly stayed in a Motel 2 nights. OX again.

  4. June Adams says:

    Hi, Honey, Sorry you had to see that horrible movie. I don’t care for movies like either. It must run in the family. Why would any parent want their children to view such movies? There are so many good movies, such as comedy, oh yes, they don’t have a sence of humor. Would you like us to send you some funny movies? Love,)X Grandma, June

  5. Mischa says:

    Hi Miranda,

    It’s quarter past 11pm on a school night. I’ve been reading your blog for the past hour, because it’s WAY more interesting than The Good Earth for Adv. English or AP Euro notes. I laughed about the David Sedaris book because it reminded me of “The six to eight black men” 😀
    -Mischa

  6. Becky says:

    I can’t watch scary movies either…

  7. Ania says:

    Your blog is awesome! I *might* be going to China as an exchange student next year so it’s really helpful to be able to read about someone else’s experiences!

Leave a Reply

